Nepal Registered a Historic Win over West Indies A

Against West Indies A on Saturday, the national cricket team of Nepal achieved a historic victory. At TU Cricket Ground, Nepal defeated West Indies A by four wickets to take a 1-0 lead in the five-match T20 series.

The match-winning century from captain Rohit Paudel made his team’s chase of the 205 runs needed with two balls remaining.

Nepal was 38/2 in the fifth over after losing both of their openers, Anil Sah (5) and Kushal Bhurtel (16), without accomplishing anything particularly noteworthy. Before Rohit Paudel and DS Airee shared a 64-run partnership for the fourth wicket, Kushal Malla also walked back for 16.

Prior to exiting the crease, Airee scored 24 runs. However, skipper Rohit Paudel persisted and led the inning. In just 47 balls, he scored an amazing century. Bibek Yadav, the next batter, did not perform particularly well either, as he was out for seven. After making 112 runs off of 54 balls, Paudel was eventually removed in the penultimate over’s final ball.

With a boundary in the opening ball, Pratish GC brought the total from the final six balls to nine runs. After a pair of singles were taken in the opening two deliveries of the final over, Gulshan Jha struck a back-to-back boundary to cap off an incredible Nepali chase. Obed McCoy and Matthew Forde both scored a pair of goals for the losing team.

Earlier, selected to bat first, West Indies A amassed a massive 204/5. Johnson Charles was lost early on for a duck, but after that, everything was going bang.

Before Alick Athanaze produced a quick 47, Andre Fletcher scored 13 off five balls. With his 46-ball 74, captain Roston Chase led the Windies in scoring. Additionally, Keacy Carty scored 38 runs.

Abinash Bohara performed admirably for Nepal, taking one wicket for just 28 runs (4-0-28-1). Kamal Singh Airee, Rohit Paudel, and DS Airee all claimed one wicket apiece.

The second game is scheduled for April 28 at the same venue.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *